A Florida Boating Safety ID card is required for anyone born after January 1, 1988 who operated a vessel powered by more than 10HP.
Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla 78 offers two coursed to qualify for the Boating Safety ID Card. An eight-hour Boat America class the 1st Saturday of the month in Madeira Beach and a 12-week repeating cycle Basic Skills & Seamanship class every Tuesday at 7 P.M. in St. Pete Beach.
For more information contact Tom at TomFlotilla78@gmail.com, 727-367-1409
Water and beach activities are popular pastimes for Madeira Beach. As traffic increases, safety requires vigilance to prevent mishaps and even serious accidents. Careless navigation causes damage to property from excessive wakes. Some of the following are laws; others are suggestions.
Boating the Safe Way
Observe the posted “Idle Speed, No Wake” and “Slow Down, Minimum Wake” signs.
Do not operate your watercraft at more than 4 nautical miles per hour within 100 feet of people swimming or within 200 feet of beaches frequented by swimmers.
Do not water-ski or operate a boat towing skiers within 300 feet of the beaches.
Do not anchor your vessel within 50 feet of a private dock or seawall except in the case of an emergency.
If you see a boating accident or someone in the water who needs assistance, call the Coast Guard Marine Rescue in St. Petersburg at (727) 896-6187.
Florida Fish and Wildlife’s Boat Safety site has boating regulations and more safety tips. It also provides an online safety course. Visit their homepage for more information here.
To learn more about keeping your dogs safe when boating please click here.
Safety at the Beach
There are no lifeguards on duty at our beaches.
Heed the sign on South Beach near John’s Pass Bridge concerning the undertow.
Usually, during the summer months, stingrays come close to shore. Shuffle your feet when wading in shallow water to avoid stepping on one and getting a painful sting. If you get stung, seek medical attention right away.
Keep our beaches safe and litter free by using the beach trash cans.
Do not let a sunburn happen to you!
Do most of your sunbathing before 10:00 a.m. and after 2:00 p.m. Use a beach umbrella. Wear a hat and a long-sleeved shirt.
Use a broad-spectrum sunscreen with SPF (Sun Protection Factor) of 15+ on areas.
Drowning is one of the main causes of accidental death for American infants and children under the age of five. Only by increased awareness and effort can we reduce some very alarming statistics. Below are tips on how to help prevent such accident from occurring.
Drowning Prevention Tips:
There is no substitute for adequate supervision.
Pools and spas are attractive to children, and children must be kept away from them in the absence of adequate supervision. A fence, wall or natural/artificial barrier should completely enclose your pool or spa. All gates or doors with access to the pool or spa should have a spring lock, self-closing and self-latching mechanism that protects against unauthorized entry and use. The inside latch should be above the reach of toddlers or young children. Check with your state or local government to learn their specific legal requirements concerning fencing around pools and spas. You cannot be too cautious. If your pool, spa or hot tub is indoors, lock the door to the room or have a cover that locks, to keep out children and other unauthorized users.
Do not place objects, i.e. chairs or tables near the pool or spa fence that would allow a youngster to climb over. Tree limbs and low overhanging roofs should be removed or made inaccessible.
A float line stretched across a pool indicating where the deep end begins can avoid dangerous excursion by young children into water over their heads.
A clear view of the pool or spa from the house should be assured by removing vegetation and other obstacles. Trespassers or unexpected swimmers can be discovered by an occasional glance at the pool or spa area.
Reaching and throwing aids should be kept on both sides of the pool. These items should remain stationary and not be misplaced through play activities.
Pools or spas should never be used if any of the grate outlets are missing or broken.
It is important that you carefully read and follow the manufacturer’s directions for safe installation, use, and maintenance of your pool or spa cover. Always completely remove the cover before using your pool or spa, this is to avoid the possibility of anyone, especially a small child, being trapped and drowning under the cover. Drain any standing water from the surface of your pool or spa cover. An infant or small child can drown even in the smallest amount of water. Be especially alert for the potential for drowning accidents if you use any of the lightweight, floating pool or spa covers. These floating covers are not solid and no one should crawl or walk on them. They are not for safety.
Never leave a child alone, out of eye contact, or without supervision in or near the pool or spa, not even for a second!
Young children should never be considered water safe despite their swimming skills, previous instruction or experience.
Access to the pool or spa should be limited by locked doors or gates whenever swimming or soaking cannot be supervised.
Teach your children good pool or spa safety habits: no running, pushing playmates, no jumping on others, no diving or jumping in shallow water or “dunking.”
Do not rely solely on plastic inner tubes, inflatable armbands or other toys to prevent accidents.
Keep toys, particularly tricycles or wheel toys, away from the pool or spa. A child playing with these could accidentally fall into the water.
Do not allow anyone of any age to swim without a “spotter” nearby/ Examples of good safety behavior by adults are important to young children.
During social gatherings, be certain that someone has the major responsibility for watching the children and swimmers at all times.
Do not permit playful screaming for help – false alarms – which might mask a real emergency.
Teach your children the most effective way to get out of the pool or spa quickly.
Do not allow your child to swim immediately after eating a heavy meal.
Do not allow swimming during thunder or other storms.
Do not allow glass in the pool or spa area.
Do not allow the use of drugs or alcohol by a person using the pool or spa, or in pool or spa area.
Prepare for a Pool Emergency
Poolside rescue equipment, including a ring buoy with an attached line and/or a long-handled hook, should be available to assist in removing victims from the water. This equipment should never be used for play.
Emergency procedures should be clearly written and posted in the pool area. In case of emergency:
Dial 911. It is advisable to install a telephone or use cordless/cell phone in the pool or spa area.
Give your name, location, and the telephone number you are calling from.
Tell what happened and how many people need help.
Don’t hang up the phone until after the emergency person does.
Adults in the family should be trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). CPR is the combination of rescue breathing and artificial circulation for victims of respiratory or cardiac arrest as a result of drowning, heart attack or other causes. CPR training is available through our Fire Department as well as local chapters of the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association. Preventing an emergency is the best preparation: Never leave a child alone in or near a pool, spa or any other body of water! Take special precautions with young children who use spas. Spas are deep enough for children to drown in a matter of minutes. Also, children may become ill from overheating.
Only fire sprinklers can detect fire AND automatically control it – affording families the time to make a safe escape and protect valuables and property. Please join us in helping to save lives by supporting the installation of residential fire sprinklers in all American homes.
For more information on increasing the awareness of the benefits and availability of residential fire sprinkler systems, please visit the USFA website at www.usfa.dhs.gov and the Home Fire Sprinkler Coalition’s Website www.homefiresprinkler.org
Unsure of the disposal of old medications?
The FDA has created a website to provide guidance and information on the disposal of medications, to find out more click here.
Additionally, the site provides excellent information regarding food, cosmetics, medical devices, etc.
Is your home properly marked?
Our Fire Department’s mission is to provide you with quality customer service. Our goal is to get to you as soon as possible when you have an emergency. Having your house number properly marked and very visible from the street is essential. The City Code dictates the posting of numerals to be at least 3 inches in height. We recommend checking the numbering on your home as part of your family’s safety plan.
State laws define bicycles as moving vehicles subject to the same traffic regulations as automobiles, etc. As a bicyclist, you have the same rights and responsibilities as a motorist does.
Ride predictably, just as you would if you were operating a motor vehicle. Blending in with the normal traffic flow is the safest way to ride.
Ride on the right side of the roadway with the flow of traffic. Riding on the left or on the sidewalk significantly increases your chances for being involved in a crash, especially at intersections and driveways where motorists will not expect to see you. Besides, riding on the right is the law. (You may see people with smaller children riding on the sidewalk. If you are one of those persons, be considerate of pedestrians and remember that they have the right-of-way on these walkways.)
Obey all traffic signs and signals.
Always yield to overtaking traffic; then signal before turning or changing lanes. If a motorist slows to allow you the right-of-way as a courtesy, make eye contact with the driver and signal that you understand that the driver gave you the right-of-way.
Ride single file unless traffic allows you to ride two abreast. Do not ride two abreast on Gulf Boulevard.
Yield to other vehicles and pedestrians when traffic law requires that you do so.
Be highly visible. Wear light, bright-colored clothing in daylight. At dusk and when it is dark, use a bright white headlight and a red rear reflector. Lights at night are the law. To make yourself even more visible at night, use additional reflectors on your bicycle (e.g., pedal reflectors) and wear reflective material.
Look behind you before turning or changing lanes. If you use a mirror, look back too; you might miss an overtaking vehicle in your mirror.
Maintain your bicycle regularly so it is safe and dependable. If your bike is a rental, make sure it is in good riding condition before starting out.
Carry all cargo on a rack, in bike bags, or in panniers. A backpack may also be used for light loads, but make sure the straps are tight so that the bag does not flop around while riding. Do not hang packages off the handlebars or carry them in your lap.
Watch out for road hazards such as rocks, potholes, gravel, sand, sewer grates, and animals.
When crossing bridges, obey the posted instructions to walk your bike across the span. The bridge grating on the drawbridges can be slick when damp.
The best way to fight fires is to prevent them before they start. Routine fire inspections are conducted to help reduce and prevent fire and injuries. Florida State Statute 633.081 gives the Fire Department Inspectors the authority to inspect every business within our Fire District. The purpose of the inspection is to:
· Identify and correct fire code violations
· Educate business and property owners about fire and life safety
Always be sure to contact your fire inspector when emergency contact information changes.
In the event of an emergency, it is important that we are able to contact the correct individual. By providing us with up to date emergency contact information we can make contact as quickly as possible.
Empty sand bags can be picked up all year round at the Madeira Beach Marina (503 150th Ave, Madeira Beach, FL 33708). You will then have to fill the bags with sand.
During an emergency the city will set up a sand bag station where you can get filled sand bags. The location of the station will be announced on our website, facebook, and email newsletters. If you are unable to go to a sand bag station and need assistance please reach out to the Public Works Department: 727-391-9951 x 400
Employers, places of worship, civic organizations and community groups are among the organizations that can establish their own voluntary Host Homes programs that they operate for their own employees or members. It gives an opportunity for those within an organization who live in a secure home in a non-evacuation area to open their home to a fellow member of the same organization who must evacuate.
Please visit the Pinellas County Emergency Management site for a how to guide on shelters. Review the site to help determine when the right time is to go to a shelter as well as a list of local shelters.
The following may operate with the noted restrictions:
Restaurants, bars and other establishments licensed to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises:
May operate at 50% of their indoor capacity, excluding employees
Bar areas may open with seated service
Outdoor seating is permitted with appropriate social distancing
Nightclubs remain closed
Includes but not limited to: movie theaters, concert halls, auditoriums, playhouses, bowling alleys and arcades
May operate at 50% of building capacity with appropriate social distancing between groups and appropriate sanitation.
Pari-mutuel facilities with written request for approval through the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
Gyms/fitness center, dance studios, yoga and other fitness classes or similar
May operate up to building capacity with social distancing and proper sanitation protocols
Personal services businesses, such as body piercing, tanning, acupuncture, nail salons, barber shops, hair salons, cosmetology specialty salons, tattoo services, massage services, and other one-on-one services.
May operate with appropriate safety guidelines as outlined by the Department of Health.
Large spectator sporting events up to 25 percent of capacity
Recreation and Large Venues
Includes, movie theaters, concert halls, auditoriums, bowling alleys, arcades, playhouses, and casinos
Cleaning and disinfecting required
Businesses should consider screening employees before work and require workers to wear masks or cloth face coverings while inside or within close proximity to members of the public.
Updated Guidance for Beaches, Pools and Playgrounds
On May 28, 2020, the Pinellas County Commission approved the following:
Beaches: Effective immediately, social distancing restrictions removed, but visitors strongly encouraged to continue spreading out and acting safely when visiting the beaches. Signage will remain at the beaches to remind visitors of best practices.
Pools: Effective on May 28, hotel and motel pools could return to operating up to maximum load capacity. HOA, apartment, condominium and all other pool operators could resume full capacity starting Monday, June 1.
Childcare facility playgrounds: Effective immediately, the facilities could resume their regular playground capacity and operations.
Public playgrounds: Effective June 1, public playgrounds can reopen with strong social distancing and safety reminders. Caregivers visiting public playgrounds with children are also strongly encouraged to practice increased hand sanitation and consider bringing hand sanitizer or sanitizing wipes with them.
A permit is valid for six months from the date of issuance, or from the last approved inspection date. If the project is dormant for six months, then the permit is expired. A permit may be extended only by the Building Official with a submitted written request.
All of the Florida Building Codes can be obtained through BOAF Market Place or through the State of Florida. The National electrical code and the N.F.P.A. codes can be obtained through The National Fire Protection Association. You also may find them in your local library, or at some of the larger bookstores.
Yes, these are required under City Ordinance Sec. 14-1. They must be on the front of the building or over the front entrance. These numbers shall contrast with their background. Address numbers shall be Arabic numbers or alphabetical letters. Numbers shall be a minimum of 4 inches (102 mm) high with a minimum stroke width of 1/2 inch (12.7 mm).
Notice of Commencement (N.O.C.) – Notice that improvements will be made to certain real property. When this form is required, the form needs to be recorded with the Clerk of the Circuit Court and then submitted to Building Services before any inspections can be scheduled.
A building permit is required for a new or an extension of a driveway. Also, you must comply with all zoning and environmental regulations. You can contact a zoning representative at 727-391-9951 ext. 283.
As the owner you may hire laborers to help you in the construction. However, you must supervise any of the laborers you hire. At the time of permitting you will need to turn in a Homeowner Affidavit. You must also comply with Florida Statues regarding workers compensation and federal taxes. You can contract for the different categories of work (electrical, plumbing, mechanical, etc.) as long as the person you hire is a licensed contractor.
Power will not be released under most circumstances until the building has received all required inspections and all fees due are paid. We do issue what is known as temporary power for specific items that require testing prior to occupancy.
When building or improving one-family or two-family residences on such property for the occupancy or use of such owners and not offered for sale or lease, or building or improving commercial buildings, at a cost not to exceed $500 on such property for the occupancy or use of such owners and not offered for sale or lease, such owners of the property may act as their own contractor and they must provide full time, direct on site supervision themselves of all work not performed by licensed contractors.
As the owner of a one or two family dwelling you my act as your own contractor and do the work yourself, provided that the home is for your own use, it is not for sale or lease. You must also be doing the work yourself or providing direct on site supervision. If you are the owner of a commercial property (Other than one- & two-family dwellings) you are required to hire a contractor for any work that requires a permit and inspection.
Madeira Beach uses pay stations and phone apps (Park Mobil and Where To Park) to collect parking fees of $3.00/hr.
This is a complete list of city-owned and managed parking lots.
John’s Pass Park, Gulf Boulevard and 129th Avenue West
John’s Pass Village parking lot at Village Boulevard and 129th Avenue East
John’s Pass Village on Village Boulevard
Gulf Boulevard at 131st Avenue
Gulf Boulevard at 133rd Avenue East and West of Gulf Blvd.
Gulf Boulevard at 134th Avenue
Gulf Boulevard at 135th Avenue
Gulf Boulevard at 136th Avenue
Gulf Boulevard at 141st Avenue (Kitty Stuart Park)
You may park at these locations between 6 a.m. and midnight, except for at Kitty Stuart Park which closes at 10 p.m. Meters are in effect during these hours, seven days a week. Parking any other time without a weekly or monthly parking permit is prohibited.
There is also privately owned parking around John’s Pass Village including the John’s Pass Village Parking Garage (727-398-3968) and lots operated by FLParking (727-401-0530). Pinellas County owns and manages the lot located on Gulf Blvd at 145th Ave. and can be contacted at 727-582-2100 Ext. 0.
**Starting on June 24th we will no longer be issuing visitor passes. You will be able to feed the meter for overnight parking via ParkMobile App. There will only be a select number of spot available per lot for overnight parking.
Visitor Parking for overnight can be purchased via the Park Mobile App or at the meter in the parking lot. Please see below for overnight parking details:
If you pay for parking for a duration of time and move your car, there is not a grantee a spot will be available when your return even if you have time left
Overnight parking is accepted at the following locations:
130th Ave located west of Gulf Boulevard at 130th Avenue.
City parking lots – Located on the west side of Gulf Boulevard at 131st, 132nd, 133rd, 134th, 135th and 136th Avenues, and on the east side of Gulf Boulevard at 133rd Avenue
Water services for the city of Madeira Beach, including potable drinking water, reclaimed (non-potable) water used for irrigation and sanitary sewer is provided and and billed through Pinellas County. For more information about county provided water services please the Pinellas County website.
Sand to Sea Inc. will check the beaches every morning for signs of new nests, nesting staff mark the nests and rope them off to avoid human disturbance. Though this organization you can help by adopting a nest through Sand to Sea Inc. Visit their website for more details: https://sandtoseainc.org/.
To report the disturbance of a sea turtle nest, or report the sightings of turtles or hatchlings lost, stranded or wandering in the street, call the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) Division of Law Enforcement at 1-888-404-3922, or *FWC from a cell phone.
Kemp’s Ridley and Loggerhead turtles make Madeira Beach their temporary home during May to October. These turtles are considered endangered which is why it is so important for us to keep our distance and help them thrive.
Sand to Sea Inc. monitors the beach in Madeira for any turtle nests. They will mark them off so beach guests can make sure to steer clear.
Citizens should not pick up hatchlings heading toward the water, shine lights or use photo equipment with a flash. Hatchlings use starlight and moonlight reflecting off the water to find their way to the ocean, and if they become misled by artificial light, they can become disoriented and die.
To report the disturbance of a sea turtle nest, or report the sightings of turtles or hatchlings lost, stranded or wandering in the street, call the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) Division of Law Enforcement at 1-888-404-3922, or *FWC from a cell phone.
▪ Schools remain distance learning.
▪ Visits to senior living facilities are prohibited.
▪ Elective surgeries can resume.
▪ Restaurants may offer outdoor seating with six foot space between tables and indoor
seating at 25% capacity.
▪ Retail can operate at 25% of indoor capacity.
▪ No change for bars, gyms, and personal services such as hair dressers.
▪ Vulnerable individuals should avoid close contact with people outside the home.
▪ All individuals, when in public, should maximize physical distance from others.
▪ Avoid socializing in groups of more than 10 people in circumstances that do not readily
allow for physical distancing.
▪ Face masks are recommended for all those in face-to-face interactions and where you can’t
Full presentation of information on the Governor’s plan is available here.
The Public Works Department maintains all streets except State-maintained Gulf Boulevard and 150th Avenue (Tom Stuart/Welch/Madeira Beach Causeway). To report problems with any City street, contact the Public Works at 727-543-8154. To report any problem on the two State-maintained streets, contact the Department of Transportation at (727) 570-5101.
To report illegal discharges to the storm sewer system (i.e., ditches, drainage inlets, manholes, detention ponds, lakes, etc.) or for information on illegal discharges, contact the Pinellas County hotline at (727) 464-5060 and also Public Works at 727-543-8154.
Per Chapter 1 of the Florida Building Code and section 553.79 (1), Florida Statutes: Any owner, authorized agent, or contractor who desires to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish, or change the occupancy or occupant content of a building or structure, or any outside area being used as part of the building’s designated occupancy (single or mixed) or to erect, install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert or replace any electrical, gas, mechanical or plumbing system, the installation of which is regulated by the technical codes, or to cause any such work to be done, shall first make application to the building official and obtain the required permit for the work.
You must get a permit from the City of Madeira Beach before you remove any tree, including a tree on private property. For more information, contact the City of Madeira Beach Building Department at 727-391-9951 or see below for the City Ordinance regarding tree removal.
Before you erect, demolish, construct, repair, or structurally alter a building or change the use of a building or lot, you must apply for a Building Permit. You need to complete an application and supply a detailed statement of the specifications and plans. You can get an Application for Building Permits at the City of Madeira Beach Building Department.
If you are not sure whether your project requires a permit, contact the City of Madeira Beach Building Department – Permit Technician desk at (727) 391-9951 x 246.
Yes, home owners or companies installing burglar alarms in residences or businesses in the City must get a permit. Contact the City of Madeira Beach Building Department at (727) 391-9951 x 246 for more information.
Building Code Regulations: Determine whether proposed remodeling complies with the Building Code Regulations. Fire Code Regulations: Determine whether you have installed a 2A-10BC Fire Extinguisher. A licensed Extinguishing Company must service and tag this extinguisher. To learn how to install this fire extinguisher properly or whether you need more extinguishers, contact the Madeira Beach Fire Department at (727) 391-3400. After you satisfy the zoning regulations and the fire and building-code requirements, you complete the application for local business tax.
All Madeira Beach ordinances are available at the Office of the City Clerk in City Hall located at 300 Municipal Drive, Madeira Beach, FL 33708 or can be found online at www.municode.com. The Code of Ordinances can also be found electronically on the Code Enforcement and Office of the City Clerk pages.
The Board of Commissioners appoints a Special Magistrate to review and take action on code cases. The Special Magistrate has the authority to impose administrative fines and other non-criminal penalties to enforce Codes and Ordinances. Meetings are at City Hall on the second Wednesday of each month when there are cases to be heard.
The City of Madeira Beach Building Department reviews all plans, issues permits, and inspects all construction work in the City of Madeira Beach. This includes fences, driveways, pavers and concrete slabs. The purpose of the review and inspection is to ensure compliance with all codes and ordinances. Building permits are required for new construction, additions, interior alterations, in-ground and above-ground pools, roofing, fences, signs, patio covers, garages, sheds, driveways, sidewalks, and work on electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and gas systems.
Contact the City of Madeira Beach Community Services Department – Permit Technician Desk at (727) 391-9951 x 246 for more information.
Garage sales may last no more than three (3) consecutive days. They must take place in daylight hours and are limited to three (3) times a year at any one address. No permit is required. We also have a City Wide Garage Sale in March. To find out more information, contact City Hall at (727) 391-9951.
You can address the Board during the Citizen Forum on any subject of interest not on the agenda. You limit your comments to three minutes. You can also speak on agenda items. The Board reviews the staff presentation, discusses the item, and then opens the meeting for public input. You speak from the podium after stating your name and address for the record and stating whether you represent a group or organization. Your comments are limited to three (3) minutes. After everyone has commented, the public-hearing portion closes, and the Board decides the matter.
The fourth Tuesday of each month at 2:00 p.m. is a Board of Commissioners Workshop, which is held in the Auditorium at City Hall located at 300 Municipal Drive. The Regular Board of Commissioners meetings are held the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Auditorium at City Hall. They are televised live on Bright House Networks Cable TV Channel 640 as well as streamed live over the Internet.
The Board consists of five (5) members elected by the residents of the city. Four (4) of the members are from each of the four commission districts and the fifth member is the Mayor. The Mayor is elected for a three-year term, and the Commissioners are elected for a two-year term. There is no limit to the number of terms one can serve.
All signs in the City, including permanent or temporary signs such as banners, balloons, pennants, etc., require a Permit before construction or display can take place. For more information, contact the City of Madeira Beach Planning and Zoning Director at (727) 391-9951 x 255.