See the latest information on Covid-19 from the Florida Department of Health 

Municipal Elections

All elections are held in the City on the second Tuesday in March of each year for the purpose of electing successors to elective offices. Elections for Commissioners of Districts One (1) and Two (2) are held in even numbered years. Elections for Commissioners of Districts Three (3) and Four (4) are held in odd numbered years. The term for the Commissioners of Districts is for two (2) years. The term for Mayor-Commissioner is for three (3) years allowing the seat to alternate with the Commissioners of Districts.

The Board of Commissioners, by Ordinance, prescribe the manner of holding both general and special elections and the polling places. In accordance with City Charter Section 3.4, Subsection B, the location of the polling place (Pinellas County, Precinct No.’s 415 and 301) for the elections are held at the following locations:

  • Precinct 415 – Madeira Beach Municipal Building, City Centre Room
    300 Municipal Drive, Madeira Beach, Florida
  • Precinct 301 – Faith Community church of Seminole
    11501 Walker Avenue, Seminole, Florida 33772

The Pinellas County Canvassing Board is the designated Canvassing Board for all elections under the City of Madeira Beach Charter. The actions of the Canvassing Board are reported to the Board of Commissioners at their next meeting following the election and the Board of Commissioners then meet for the purpose of declaring the results of the election.

The Candidate Qualifying Period for the Municipal Elections begins at noon, on the 90th day before the election and ends at noon, on the 60th day before the election. All candidates must have been a qualified elector and a resident of the City of Madeira Beach, Florida, for two (2) years immediately prior to the date of the required application if filed with the City Clerk and a resident of the district for which he/she declares himself/herself to be a candidate for a period of six (6) months prior to the date of the application.

The annual salary for Mayor is $10,000 annually and the annual salary for District Commissioner is $7,500.

For information about the election, please contact the City Clerk.

Contact Information
Clara VanBlargan, MMC, MSM
City Clerk/Chief Elections Official
727-391-9951, ext. 231

Close window